CSN Foundation

Spirit of CSN Awards - 2021

2021 Spirit of CSN Award Recipients

CSN President Dr. Federico Zaragoza and the CSN Foundation Board of Trustees are pleased to announce the 2021-2022 Spirit of CSN award recipients.

Cody the Coyote’s Locker – Marissa Robledo

Cody the Coyote’s Locker looks to eliminate a financial barrier by providing basic classroom necessities. Having access to free or loaned school supplies will help students be successful in and out of the classroom. The award will provide support to stock the locker with items such as highlighters, backpacks, and paper.

CSN Community of Practice Projects Designed for Student – Sonya Pearson, PH.D., JD

The CSN Community of Practice Projects Designed for Student is requesting funding to support the curriculum and program design work to implement a large-scale system to better understand and address students basic needs and success.

First Year Experience (FYE) Connection Award and Scholarship – Dr. Karen Violanti and Courtney Schmitz, Student Affairs

The First Year Experience Connection Award and Scholarship is going into its second year working to offer new students an intentionally designed connection to community, academic and social engagement. This is an incentive program to encourage students to take advantage of the opportunities available in the first year, while simultaneously helping students connect.

Meaningful Writing Initiative – Rhode, Shapiro, Royer, Powell, Dixon, and Thornberry

The Meaningful Writing Experience (MWE) will operate as a sub-committee of the existing Composition Committee in the English Department. Partnering with FYE and first-year course instructors creates curriculum-based opportunities across disciplines for students to engage with the CSN community and professional leaders/organizations.

Thank you to the Spirit of CSN 2021 Selection Committee appointed by Dr. Zaragoza

Lisa De Jesus
Linda Foreman
Kayani Martin
Kirsten Nielsen
Shuntel Owens Rogers
Somer Rogers
Maria Schellhase
Kimiko Walton


Contact Us

Danita Simons

Executive Director


Jocelyn Metoxen

Philanthropy Coordinator


A headshot of Lauren Johnson. Lauren smiles at camera standing in front of wood background.

Lauren Johnson

Manager of Alumni & Donor Relations


College of Southern Nevada Foundation Offices

6375 W. Charleston Blvd., WCE310
Las Vegas, Nevada 89146