CSN Foundation

2023 Spirit of CSN Grant Awards

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 Spirit of CSN Grant Award Recipients


Cody’s Locker

Cody’s Locker is going into its third year working to provide all students with basic classroom necessities. This program allows students access to free school supplies and helps students be successful in and out of the classroom.

Period Equity

Menstrual hygiene products are necessities, not luxuries, and should be treated as such. The Period Equity proposal addresses the real issue of “period-poverty” by providing a proactive solution of providing students with free menstruation hygiene products in the student unions.

Sankofa English 101 and 102 Initiative

As a retention program for African American students, the Division of Student Affairs and the English Department has created the Sankofa English Initiative offering a combination of three sections of English 101/102 classes in any given semester. This proposal will fund books and supplies for the Sankofa initiative.

The Great Textbook Voucher Program

The Great Textbook Voucher Program will allow TRIO students to get the textbooks they need directly from the bookstore. This will help to minimize the financial burden on our low-income students.

Walking on Eggshells But Getting Prepared for It

Psychiatric nursing experts have called the moment a student nurse interacts with a psychiatric patient, face-to-face, for the very first time, “walking on eggshells”. This proposal will deliver new teaching strategies to decrease student nurses’ anxiety and increase their confidence in preparation for their first face-to-face interaction with an actual psychiatric patient.

Thank you to the Spirit of CSN Grant Review Team

Carey Sedlacek
India Barton
Iris Melendez
Lily Alvarez-Sharpe
Linda Foreman
Stephanie Little

Contact Us

Danita Simons

Executive Director


Jocelyn Metoxen

Philanthropy Coordinator


A headshot of Lauren Johnson. Lauren smiles at camera standing in front of wood background.

Lauren Johnson

Manager of Alumni & Donor Relations


College of Southern Nevada Foundation Offices

6375 W. Charleston Blvd., WCE310
Las Vegas, Nevada 89146